The Old Station House
West Dean Estate
The 'London Brighton and South Coast Railway' company built this country house style railway station which was opened in 1881 and served as a passenger railway station until 1935. The station was intended to be the stop which served the Goodwood Racecourse. The station house and ticket office became part of the West Dean College estate and gradually fell into a state of disrepair.
After six months on site, working very closely with the proactive team at Ascia Construction, the project has now been transformed into two family homes, breathing life into the Grade II building once again. The building revealed a number of challenges during its intensive refurbishment, perhaps the most interesting was when the tile-hanging was removed to reveal stunning pargeting across the first floor elevations.